My Passion and Curiosity

What are your passion and curiosity quotients?  Passion quotient (PQ) and curiosity quotient (CQ) are ideas developed by Thomas L. Friedman (2013) and he equates them to our intelligence quotient.  According to Friedman in the 21st century

“The winners won’t just be those with more I.Q. It will also be those with more P.Q. (passion quotient) and C.Q. (curiosity quotient) to leverage all the new digital tools to not just find a job, but to invent one or reinvent one, and to not just learn but to relearn for a lifetime “

My life’s true passion focuses directly on my most important student, my son Lucas.  How do I develop my passion and help my son to grow? Surprisingly, my educational technology certificate coursework has been helpful! I have been exposed to various techniques, software, technology and tools to help meet my son where he is at in his learning journey. These items also come in helpful at work as I assist instructors in their course design.

My son, much like myself, shows a passion for all things electronic. He is so passionate about technology he often chooses electronics over things like reading books and playing outside.  Therefore, as his father, I am hoping to meet him in the middle and help him find a better balance to his learning.  In an attempt to encourage Lucas to read more and develop the love of playing outside, I developed a simple digital storybook on how to build a snowman.

My hope is that Lucas will enjoy this “book” so much that he will ask for others. I will then develop more books that offer content that is more educational and still a balance of offering learning through various mediums.

So what is your passion?  I would love to know, leave me a reply below.  If you need me, I will be outside making a “snowman out of snow” with my best boy!

Thanks for reading.

Reference

Friedman, T. L.  (2013, January 29). It’s P.Q. and C.Q. as Much as I.Q. The New Your Times.com. Retrieved March 5, 2014, from http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/30/opinion/friedman-its-pq-and-cq-as-much-as-iq.html?_r=0

Leave a comment

Filed under CEP-812, Uncategorized

Leave a comment