Why do smart people do not so smart things?

In week two of CEP-812 we began reading the book The Anti-Education Era: Creating Smarter Students through Digital Learning by James Paul Gee.

The focus of our reading was Part 1 of the book: How To Be Stupid. In these sections, Gee explains why he believes smart people do stupid things. Here are my thoughts and reflections on The Anti-Education Era: Creating Smarter Students through Digital Learning, Part 1.

References:

Gee, J. P. (2013). The Anti-Education Era: Creating Smarter Students through Digital Learning. New York N.Y.: Palgrave MacMillan.

James Paul Gee. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved January 24, 2004, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Paul_Gee

The Anti-Education Era: Creating Smarter Students through Digital Learning [Online Image]. (2013). Retrieved January 24, 2014, from http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71UJjxNLuhL.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under CEP-812, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Why do smart people do not so smart things?

  1. Thomas Bieri

    Hi Brian,
    You explain what Gee had to say in very clear ways and relate it to your personal experiences well. I really know what you mean about having to keep in mind that what you think you remember happened might not be what really did, that what you think you or someone said might not be right. My wife and I have that all the time, compounded by working with two different first languages!
    Oh, I did notice that you wrote “expect” when you meant “accept”, you might want to tidy that up. 😉
    Thomas

  2. Hi Brian: I am from Egypt so it took me a minute to get the “What the Beck” comment, but now I understand. Cute! Ok, so nice use of references and using the picture of the book reviewed. Also, I reviewed the two reasons that struck you most from Gee’s book, that people do stupid things because of a trust issue with their memories, and because of solidarity and status. I personally agree strongly with the solidarity and status reason for why people behave studpidly.

  3. Brian,
    I enjoyed reading your response. I appreciate the fact that you spent some time reflecting on how our memories are not always accurate. I also found this to be a rather intriguing point made by Gee. It’s so easy to think that since we were there, that it must have happened exactly as we remember. Whereas, it is indeed all based on interpretation. I hope to also make smarter decisions… : )

  4. Pingback: Book Review – The Anti-Education Era: Creating Smarter Students Through Digital Learning | Teacher Sherrie – The Road Less Travelled

Leave a comment